Gear review: PEONFX windbreaker + video!

A few months ago, as fall was turning into winter, it started raining a lot. I started looking around for a good, lightweight rain jacket that wasn’t going to make me take out a loan. A lot of the stuff out there that I saw was in excess of $100 and wasn’t really all that stylin’, which is, ya know, SORT of important, less than functionality of course. There was either the lame jackets (see big, and yellow), or really nice jackets that I’d love to have, but couldn’t justify buying at the time. In came PEONFX. Not to be confused with Phoenix. Back when I was searching around for a jacket I stopped by Pedal Consumption and saw that Patrick had thrown up pics of the PEONFX windbreaker. So I clicked, checked out their site and basically immediately ordered their windbreaker. Not only did it cost much less than I’d expected (back when I ordered it, the site was listing the singapore equal to our dollar, which ends up being less for us A-murra-kins), it came really quickly, which was good because the rain wasn’t going easy on me. Ever since then I’ve been using it on every rainy day and staying dry as hell while I’m at it. Ever since I got it I wanted to try something, which is what spawned this video, to really stress test the thing. The results kinda surprised me because out there in the world the wetness just doesn’t get in. At all. I joke to my friends when they say I’m all soggy after getting in after a ride that it’s sweat, because it is. The rain doesn’t get me, the ride does. After hoppin’ in the shower for a minute, and letting the water assault me, the only part of the shirt that ends up wet is what’s just under the zipper. I don’t notice this while riding because I’m always sorta hunched over while riding, protecting the zipper. So the only REAL gripe I have about this jacket is that it needs some sort of interior barrier of the water resistant material to prevent even the zipper from letting in water. Other than that I wear this thing all the time, even when it’s not raining, just because it looks so damn good.

If you’re in need of a good, REALLY affordable jacket head over to PEONFX for the whole spread.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

